What just landed in my inbox:
Subject: [!! SPAM] BE OUR REPRISENTATIVE (sic)
Body:
---snip---
HI,
I represent TEIKOKU OIL AND GAS COMPANY based in TOKYO,japan our company deals on oil and gas which we sell,import and also exports.We are searching for trust worthy administrative officer who can help us establish a medium of getting to our customers in Europe and America as well as making payments through you as our administrative officer.The international money transfer tax for legal entities (companies) in japan is 25%, whereas for the individual it is only 7%.There is no sense for us to work this way, while tax for international money transfer made by a private individual is 7% .
We are willing to pay you and the lawyer 15% for every payment received by you from our clients who makes payment through you.
Teikoku _Oil_ gas _company
1- 31-10, Hatagaya, Shibuya-ku
151-8565, Tokyo
JAPAN
email:teikoku*******@hotmail.com
Phone: +81-3-3466-123
Fax: +81-3-3468-351
Note that, as our administrative officer, you and your lawyer will receive 10% of whatever amount you receive for the company and the balance will be paid to our company. Please, to facilitate the conclusion of this transaction if accepted, do send me the following:
(1)Your full names.
(2)Contact address.
(3)Age/Sex.
(4)Mailing address.
(5)State and Country.
(6)Telephone number and fax number.
to our email ; teikoku******@hotmail.com
Thank you for your time.
your Respectfully,
Mr kiko higashida
REGIONAL MANAGER
---snap---
Obviously this mail has nothing to do with the real TEIKOKU OIL CO. LTD but is an attempt to recruit some unsuspecting user(s) for fraudulent activity - relay money or goods to a cybercriminal, mainly Phishers or Malware spreaders.
Interestingly a quick google search revealed that a similar scheme abusing this companies name was already used back in 2007.
From mail headers we could see that the cybercriminal(s) registered an account at a Japanese provider for sending emails. The mail which we received was sent by somebody in Italy - the same IP address was used once at 28/04/2010 to login to 'YouTribe.net' with the nick 'ninetto'.
Don't be fooled by such offers, they are known to end sad.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

0 comments:
Post a Comment